Skip to main content

English 101 Portfolio 








I would like to finish up my college transfer courses here at Tri-County within the next year and a half, and transfer to Clemson University. Once I am at Clemson I would like to major in English with a minor in communications. I would like to graduate Clemson University with at least a 3.7 GPA and within two years of when I transfered.



I believe that I will reach my short-term goals with a lot of hard work and persevernce. I believe that my goals are obtainable and realistic for me. However, to reach these goals with the time limits I have set I will have to work a lot harder than I have been in my first semester here at Tri-County.



After I have graduated from Clemson with a major in English and a minor in Communications; I will apply for a job at the local newspapers in Pickens, Oconee, and Anderson County as a starting point. After working several years at local newspapers I apply for a job at the Greenville News and after that I would like to move to New York or Chicago and work at the New York Times or the Chicago Sun Times. My final goal has nothing to do with my career, but it's more on a personal level. I would like to retire to Tuscany, Italy. It has always been a dream of mine to buy a villa in Tuscany and someday I hope that, that dream will come true.



The long-term goals that I have set for myself are very challenging. However, I know that I can do it. Writing about things that I deeply care about has always been a passion of mine and someday I hope I am able to share that passion with the world. I know that I will have to spend many years sucking up to people and interning and on top of that actually being a great writer to reach my goals. But I think my realizing this is going to help me a lot. And eventually I would love to be sitting on a balcony drinking wine in Tuscany. However, I know I have a lot of hard work to do.